top of page

You Must Understand This

NaPoWriMo is going well and I hope to post the next batch of poems this weekend. Here is an extra poem I wrote for a free write in class today. The prompt was to start with this "You must understand this."


you must understand this:

that bad things will happen

to you and to the people you love

and they will happen a lot -

death, lost love, injury, crashes.

you cannot escape them

or run from them;

bad things are inevitable.

you must also understand this:

that good things will happen

to you and to the people you love

and they will happen a lot -

birth, friends, laughter, hugs.

you may be able to escape them,

but you should run towards them;

good things are inevitable.

Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page