top of page

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month.


April 21st:

love is a cozy

embrace that sings you asleep,

at the end of a

long, strenuous day,

waking warm and refreshed, love

is sleeping in bed


Just a poem about how much I love sleeping.



April 22nd:

we stand alphabetically,

separated from my friends,

outside the doors of the theater,

the stage

that makes me rock on my feet;

my classmate in front of me

gives me a simple smile

and speaks a few words

I do not hear;


finally they release us

one

by

one

through the swinging doors,

and I catch a glimpse of

the stage

everytime the theater swallows a student;

when I am ushered inside,

I try to keep the pace they set,

the stage

rushing to meet me

the stage

stuck at the horizon, always so far;


I climb the mountain of stairs to

the stage

to watch notables stand and sit

and clap and stand and sit,

and in this charade of musical chairs

I am called to join,

the podium another mountain to climb,

but at the top is my guide

and as I speak,

speak my truth on

the stage

I come out of my shell


The prompt for this poem was to use repetition. I also used this poem for a class assignment, write about the most impactful day in your life.

Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

bottom of page