top of page

Wings of Hope

September has returned, along with migrating monarch butterflies stopping in BG. This is a poem I wrote for creative writing club. The prompt was to describe a place without naming it, so I course wrote about the monarch tree.

orange wings

float in on

the cooler winds

of September -

alighting on

green leaves

in clusters of

blinking tiger lilies -

that flutter

when a breeze

shakes the limbs of

their temporary home

during their long journey south -


these royal butterflies

grace us with their presence -

a fleeting reminder of

warmth and

hope



Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page