top of page

Poems 7 & 8 for NaPoWriMo

Two more poems for National Poetry Writing Month!


April 7th:

supposedly a picture is worth a thousand words,


but I can paint you a picture of a garden in a few words,

imagine veggies growing in straight little rows of moist soil,

crisp little snacks and green leaves against blue sky;


what veggies did you imagine? did you picture weeds?

or flowers? or birds stealing a bite to eat?

did you smell tomato leaves or the feel of dirt under feet?


we don’t need a picture -

the beauty of our gardens

grows from our imagination


The prompt for this poem was to push-back against a proverb, and I chose a picture is worth a thousand words.



April 8th:

lighthouse in the sky,

reflecting beams of starlight,

guiding ships past suns


A haiku inspired by my creative writing club's prompts for the day: lighthouse and moon.

Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page