top of page

Poems 17 & 18 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Month.


April 17th:

dark chocolate dog,

who lives in the room above

mine; I hear you chase


imaginary

rabbits at night while your dad

sleeps; such a large dog


in such a small place,

no wonder you bark and pace,

but still I want sleep

The prompt for this poem was interesting: take 10 minutes to create a list of dogs. I had trouble coming up with dogs. I ended up writing about the dog who lives in the apartment above me in multiple haikus to celebrate International Haiku Day. Here is my dog Bo, who was the first dog on my list.



April 18th:

oh, um…not yet,

I’m focusing on me

*

no, I’m not interested

in anyone right now

*

I force a laugh

and smile a grin-grimace

that doesn’t reach my eyes

as I shake my head

*

NO,

just no

*

stop asking -

you lost the right to know

when you didn’t accept me

for who I am


The prompt for this poem was five answers to the same question, without saying the question.

Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page