top of page

Poems 13 & 14 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month.


April 13th:

legend has it that the ships sail

around a globe when they leave the shore

legend has it that the trees sing

when they march to war


but have you heard the story of the rings of gold?

or the elves in the forest or the dwarves in the caves?

or the brave halflings who journeyed from their holes

and walked hills, sailed rivers, and traversed mountains?


come listen all you readers, to how the novel goes

anybody can rise to the prose


I used a prompt from my creative writing club list: put a playlist on shuffle and take inspiration from the first song. The song that was first when I shuffled my Spring playlist was The Moss by Cosmo Sheldrake, a song about legends and stories. My poem also utilizes the framing words of the song.



April 14th:

dusk sets in on a cloudless sky

bordered by suburban two story houses,

a dilapidated playset and a creaky swing

silhouetted against the lavender sky,

a child forlornly watches classmates

laugh and leap together

as the light fades;


that same child, in flashes of loneliness,

sits in between groups at the lunch table -

reads alone during recess -

watches invitations being shared -

stands at the outskirt of conversations;


the child, now a teen,

hikes by herself in a forest at noon,

surrounded by songbirds and squirrels,

dappled sunlight falls on a small smile;


that same teen, in flashes of joy,

grows tomatoes and lettuce -

dances until her feet hurt -

learns to cook with her mother -

skates and falls with friends -

speaks in front of her entire class;


the sun rises over a misty mountain,

a small cabin by a lake,

and the teen, now a young adult;

enjoys a mug of tea and nature,

while waiting for her friends to wake up

The prompt for this poem was the opening scene of the movie of your life. My poem is more of a trailer for the movie of my life.

Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page