top of page

Poems 1-3 for NaPoWriMo

I am participating in National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo), and I plan to write a poem every day. (It's never to late to start if you are interested!) The goal is to write a poem each day, but they don't have to be perfect works of art. Prompts are provided but they don't have to be followed. I will be posting all of my poems for the week every Saturday this April.


April 1st:

young spring flowers,

devoured by the power

of April snow -

an unexpected foe -

pastel spring jewels fooled



This poem was inspired by the April Fool's Day snow.



April 2nd:

a new apartment -

empty at first -

but filled with

a dresser from a friend,

dishes from my grandparents’ neighbor,

a couch from my mother,

chairs from cousins

a table from an aunt.

friends and family

offering help,

sharing what they can.

a new apartment

furnished with love.


This poem was inspired by the kindness of family & friends.



April 3rd:

meandering along the shore,

waves splashing over feet

and footprints.

collecting sea shells -

white and pink and tan

with chocolate colored stripes.

dodging the seaweed,

darting to pick up

a treasure dropped by a new wave,

glistening in the sunset,

rinsing the shell in the ocean,

and sticking it in your pocket.


back at home,

examining the shells

under the lamp,

picking out shells to use for

jewelry, painting, crafts, decoration.

displaying the prettiest shell

on your bedside shelf.


This poem was inspired by the NaPoWriMo daily prompt. Choose a few words from your Personal Universe Deck and let those words inspire you. I first had to create my Personal Universe List, which is a list of 100 words of various types that relate somehow to your life - I recommend you try making your own deck or list, it is a nice exercise. The words from my list I randomly picked were chocolate, lamp, and seaweed.



Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page