top of page

Ice and Snow

A poem I wrote from my creative writing club.


the

snow

falls

over

the forest,

thick and wet,

creating

a silver

landscape.

drifting

down

in large clumps;

covering

rocks, dead grass,

lifeless trees, frozen ponds.

smothering all in sight

under a heavy blanket

of ice and silence.

one day, eventually,

it will thaw

and melt

leaving

gray slushy

puddles -

signs

of spring.

but now all is buried,

all is engulfed, all is lost,

all is numb in the thick snow.


Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page