top of page

Here

A poem I wrote for my creative writing club, incorporating all three prompts: water, ghost story, and what makes me laugh. While dams are dangerous, It's hard not to laugh at the little stick figure who looks to be kart-wheeling in the water.


pastel yellows, pinks, blues

reflect in the still water

bordered by gray slabs,

as the sun rises over

the river and the dam

and the sign that says

Danger!

Hazardous

Recirculating

Currents

Can Trap And

Drown

Victims!


all seems calm, as

the dew-covered rocks

slowly dry in the sun;

little white flowers

and tall green grasses

wave in the wind

that vultures glide upon,

calling to each other;


these birds belong here -

to feast on drying fish

who get stuck in

shrinking pools of water;


you don’t belong here -

at least,

your body doesn’t -

pale, cold skin,

wet, tangled hair,

and blood on

the large rocks

looming under the dam;


your body doesn’t belong here -

the vultures will take care of that -

eating the stinking flesh,

leaving pretty little white stones

for others to stumble upon;


but your spirit? -

that belongs here -


you can join me here


Recent Posts

See All

Unfamiliar with the Day

It's National Poetry Writing Month! I didn't remember until today though, and I probably won't be able to participate everyday with how busy I am, but I do want to get back in the habit of writing. Th

Poems 21 & 22 for NaPoWriMo

My next small batch of poems for National Poetry Writing Month. April 21st: love is a cozy embrace that sings you asleep, at the end of a long, strenuous day, waking warm and refreshed, love is sleepi

bottom of page