top of page

My Top 2020 Reads

I read a lot of books this year, thanks to many English classes and more time on my hands because of covid. It was hard to decide my top book, so I chose a top book in six categories.

Top Middle Grade Novel:

Holes by Louis Sachar

I can't believe I hadn't read this before, it was such a good book. It has loveable characters that you cheer on until the end. Stanley is falsely accused of theft and sent to Camp Green Lake as punishment. The history of Camp Green Lake crashes into Stanley's present when he and his friend Zero try to escape in a satisfying conclusion. This book can be enjoyed by any reader regardless of age, so if you haven't read Holes, I highly recommend.


Top Young Adult Dystopian Novel:

The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline

In a future North America where many have lost the ability to dream, indigenous people are hunted for their bone marrow which may cure the lack of dreams. The novel follows Frenchie's attempt to escape to safety with the help of a small group of other indigenous people on the run. I couldn't put this novel down until I read whether or not Frenchie and his new family survived. Plus it nearly brought me to tears at one point, which doesn't happen frequently when I read.


Top Adult Novel:

How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia by Mohsin Hamid

This novel is told in the second person, which I found fascinating. The only other second person narration books I had ever read were Chose Your Own Adventure stories. The novel follows the main character's journey from a poor rural family to rich urban life, as well as his relationship with a girl. Even though none of the characters are given name, the story is easy enough to follow and I raced to the end ready to find out what happened to the characters.


Top Nonfiction Book:

Stamped: Racism, Anti-Racism, and You by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi

This book is a remix of Kendi's book Stamped from the Beginning aimed at teenagers. Stamped from the Beginning is rather long, but I hope to read it eventually, and this was a good book to hold me over. The book was very informative about the history of racism in America, but it did seem a little over-simplified at parts. It would be perfect for older kids and teenagers though, and I plan to have a copy in my future classroom.


Top Verse Novel:

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Xiomara has a lot to say, but no one to tell. Instead she writes poetry in her journal about her family, her classes, and a growing relationship with a boy. Xiomara's poetry is beautiful, and her English teacher recognizes her potential, encouraging Xiomara to join her slam poetry club. It is a wonderful story, and since it is told in verse it doesn't take long to read, so I definitely recommend it.


Top Graphic Novel:

Ms. Marvel: No Normal By Willow Wilson

This is the first volume of comics that introduced the new Ms. Marvel: Kamala Khan. Kamala is a very loveable character, a teenager who is trying to balance religion, family, school, friends, and her fanfiction. Knowledge of superheroes isn't necessary to enjoy this comic though. Ms. Marvel gains her superpowers in the first comic in the collection, and Kamala and readers discover her new powers together. A great comic for whether you've read many comics or none at all.

bottom of page